Reinforcement and extension activities

Dear students,

here you are the solution to the reinforcement and extension activities I gave you today with the aim of helping you in your preparation of next exam.

REINFORCEMENT ACTIVITIES

1. (The order of the missing words is:) space, blue, sphere, poles, hemispheres, equator, northern, southern.

2. – Northern hemisphere: 39% land; 61% water.

– Southern hemisphere: 19% land; 81% water.

3. (I’m sure you knew how to label the diagram)

4. The Solar System is made up of the Sun, eight planets, three dwarf planets and a series of celestial bodies: comets, asteroids and satellites.

5. Spring begins in the southern hemisphere: 3

Spring begins in the northern hemisphere: 4

The southern hemisphere has more hours…: 2

The northern hemisphere has more hours…: 1

6. – Unlike planets, dwarf planets share their orbits with other celestial bodies.

– Inner planets are those closer to the Sun. They are rocky and have few satellites. Outer planets are further from the Sun. They are gaseous and orbited by many satellites.

7. From closest to the Sun to furthest away: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune.

 

EXTENSION ACTIVITIES

 

1. Lima: 6 a.m.; Moscow: 2 p.m.;  Nairobi: 2 p.m.; Beijing: 7 p.m.; Athens: 1 p.m.; Sydney: 11 p.m.; New Delhi: 6.30 p.m.; New York: 6 a.m.; Montevideo: 8 a.m.

2. (The answers to this activity depend on the planet you’ve chosen).

 

Good luck in the exam!!

Advertisements

Time Zones

Analysing the time zones requires reasoning and also some mathematical ability, but this video will help you understand some basic concepts related to the rotation of the Earth and how it affects the time zones. Enjoy the learning experience!


Our Solar System

Dear students, here we are! We are about to learn many interesting things about one of the most exciting and intriguing things we have: the universe! And therefore, our first stop is our own Solar System, so that you can locate the Earth in space and learn about it, understand its main characteristics, recognise and compare the planets, become familiar with the rotation and revolution of the Earth and their consequences and, of course, to correctly use the appropriate vocabulary and solve problems using pictures and maps. Ready for the journey? It starts right here…

And also, here are some fascinating facts you’ll love to know about the Milky Way!!